Adapting to the new rules

I had very few moments in my life on the road where I wanted SOMEONE to come and FIX IT all for me. That night in my wooden house in the middle of my national park was one of them.

The night started normal enough. Taking my torch to go one last time to the bathroom outside the house, meeting a few large kangaroos passively chewing while watching me, hearing the bats flying around, going to bed in the deafening silence of the forest. But THEN, in the middle of the night, something woke me up from under my bed. It already took me a good 10 minutes to sum up the courage to put that foot on the floor, get up and turn on the light. That’s when I saw SOMETHING jump behind the curtains of the widow.

What the HECK was that ?! no mouse could jump that far. No iguana was that fast. Grabbing the curtain and going up and down. What if it was something dangerous ? what if it could kill me ? No way I could just choose to go back to sleep. But what if it stung ? bit ? Breathed fire ? I couldn’t just pull that curtain.

In the middle of the forest, alone in my little wooden house, no one was there to help me. I then spent about an hour throwing shoes, t shirts, socks at the curtain in a desperate attempt to at least SEE what I was dealing with. Clearly the problem was the unknown. And I was tired. And annoyed. And felt inadequate. I didn’t know what to do. And SOMEONE needed to come RIGHT NOW to my rescue and fix everything so I could go to sleep.  I was on the verge of tears when suddenly, the little mouse came out from under the curtain. Australian mice are like tiny kangaroos. They can JUMP pretty high.

As soon as I saw that it wasn’t lethal, my whole body and mind relaxed. I put a cookie on the floor to apologize to my new roommate for all the shoes throwing and went straight to bed. THAT is the amazing power of adaptability of human beings. Back in Europe, NO WAY I would ever have been ok sleeping with a mouse creeping around my stuff and person. There, the rule was, if it couldn’t kill me, I didn’t give a damn.

Little did I know how MUCH I would adapt during my time on the road. That was one of my first stop. 10 months later I would be sleeping in a tiny little metal house in the bush where I would wake up with mice on my pillow smelling my hair … Oh well. If it can’t kill me.

IMG_20141028_083014

Bonus pictures on Instagram

5 thoughts on “Adapting to the new rules

  1. Funny story! 😊 In the Daintree rainforest, I had a jungle animal chew thru my backpack at night to get to my food – which was just a tiny bag of salt I’d forgotten about, for getting leeches off… I imagined all sorts of creatures based on the noise!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

